Skip to content

Living Out Life’s Story in Seattle

July 8, 2010

Story In Seattle

I don’t know if you’ve read Donald Miller‘s newest book, A Million Miles In A Thousand Years, but you should. In the book he talks about what makes a great story. According to him, a story involves a character that wants something and overcomes conflict to get it. After defining the ideal story, he relates it to each of our individual lives. Each person lives out a story. The question to ask yourself is this:

How is your story? Is it the one you were called to live out?

Over the past couple months I have taken these words to heart. I have been searching inside myself, trying to figure out if I’m where I need to be in my life. How is my story coming along? Over the past couple years I have lived a great story. I moved out to Colorado and work at a great church. I married the most beautiful woman in the world, my wife Stephanie. We just celebrated our two year anniversary.

Inside each of us God has been stirring something. At first it was something small, barely a whisper. Eventually it grew until there was no denying it. God was directing us toward a new chapter in our story. We’ve been praying, asking God where to go next. What is the next step in fulfilling the story He has called us to? After much prayer, I believe God has spoken. We are moving to Seattle.

Mars Hill Graduate School

Stephanie is starting grad school in the fall at Mars Hill Graduate School, where she plans to fulfill her lifelong dream of getting her Masters in Counseling. I’m very excited for her and the journey that she is about to begin. As for myself, I’m not sure exactly what I will do when we get out there. I’m currently filling out job applications and networking with people I know in the area. Other than that, I’m trusting God. If you know of any good audio or video opportunities, I’d love to hear from you!

One of my favorite verses is Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.

In this season of life I am truly learning what this means. There are so many open variables as we plan our move to Seattle at the beginning of August. Renting out our condo, finding a job, finding a place to live. At times all of the uncertainties can be quite overwhelming. Honestly, if I don’t spend time with God each day, I begin to get afraid. Am I making the right decision? What am I doing? It is only by staying close to God’s Word and trusting His promise of protection and provision that I am able to get through the day without being completely stressed out by worry.

I know that He has a plan for my and Stephanie’s lives. We are living out the story that He has for us. Right now we happen to be in the overcoming conflict stage.

How is your story coming along?

From → News

7 Comments
  1. that’s awesome jeremy. its cool what you guys are doing. “Bold Moves…” i’m also in a huge transition, ill have to tell you about it sometime. and i have looked at mars hill graduate school myself. i am interested in their masters in christian studies. looks like a cool place. congrats to steph.

    • Thanks for the congrats. We are really excited about the move, but it’s definitely a scary/bold one. This will be our first big transition since college. Excited to see what happens!

  2. Davey permalink

    Hey man, Don’s book is totally on it. Sounds like you’re doing the stuff. D

  3. Dave and Kathy permalink

    We are so excited for you… and praying for God’s direction in every area of this adventure!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Living Out Life’s Story in Seattle « JEREMY GREEN -- Topsy.com
  2. How To Board A Seattle Ferry To Bainbridge Island (and not miss the boat) « JEREMY GREEN

Leave a Reply

