Skip to content

3 Steps To Support Kids in the Courage Classic Charity Bike Ride

July 17, 2010

Bike Riders

I just got back from one of my last training rides before the Courage Classic. I rode up the Colorado National Monument from the Fruita side for the first time. I’ve ridden up from the Grand Junction side a few times, but I thought I’d try something different.

The reason I’m subjecting myself to weekly 2000+ ft climbs is because of the charity bike ride I’m participating in on July 31 – August 2. Each day I will ride with hundreds of other bikers 50 or more miles over mountain passes in the Rocky Mountains. This may seem like a weird way to abuse myself, but I’m really looking forward to it.

The greatest thing about the ride is that I’m not doing it for me. I’m doing it for the kids. Kids that need your help and mine. By holding events like the Courage Classic, the Children’s Hospital is able to raise awareness and funds for children who need the best medical care available.

Here are 3 steps to support the fight for these kids’ lives.

1. Visit the Children’s Fund website

kid blowing bubbles

This website lists the direct benefits that your financial support provides for each and every kid that enters the Children’s Hospital. Here are just a few of them.

  • Offer the highest level of pediatric care possible to all patients
  • Cover the cost of care that government aid programs do not
  • Treat all children well, regardless of payment capability

2. Visit my Donate Page

My Rider Page

When you visit my donate page on the Courage Classic website you can see the team I’m riding for and the amount we have raised toward our goal. Everything that we raise goes straight to the Children’s Hospital Fund. You can even read the story about William, the baby boy we are riding for.

While you’re there click the Donate To My Ride button to give toward my ride. Every donation counts, whether big or small.

3. Tell Your Friends

friends

After you donate (no matter how big or small), share this blog post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, and email. Let them have the same opportunity to help kids in need. I know there are tons of charities out there, and money is tight right now. But it’s amazing how giving to others can change your attitude about life. It’s always better to give than to receive.

Thank you to all who have already given toward the ride, and for those who are planning to give. There are only a couple of weeks left before the Courage Classic begins, so visit my rider page and donate as soon as you can!

During the ride I’m going to do my best to blog updates each day. Be sure and subscribe to my blog either by RSS feed or by email (located in the sidebar) so you can experience the ride as it happens. Thanks!

[image by Global Jet, StuSeeger, Michelle Brea-Away]

From → Charity, Road Biking

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

