Skip to content

The Differences Between Moving Trucks and Passenger Cars

August 12, 2010

16 Foot Budget Truck

If you didn’t know, my wife and I have recently moved across the country to Seattle. We arrived a couple days ago and have been busy adjusting to life in the big city. We are staying with friends until we find a place of our own, and I am working on getting my business, Endo Creative, off the ground. But before arriving in Seattle, we faced a thousand mile trek hauling our stuff to our new home.

We had made the drive a little over a month ago in our Rav4 when we visited Seattle on vacation. But this time I drove a 16 foot Budget moving truck while towing our Toyota Rav4 on a large metal car trailer. I have never driven anything quite like it. Thankfully most of our trip took place on the interstate, but there were still a few noticeable differences between the truck and the cars I’m used to driving.

We pulled out of Grand Junction early Sunday morning. Right away I knew I wasn’t driving a normal passenger vehicle. The truck, completely full of all of our earthly belongings, strained against the load as I stepped on the gas. Slowly the truck picked up speed as I drove down residential streets toward the interstate.

Jeremy Driving Budget Truck

I made the left turn onto the on ramp, and gave the truck as much gas as possible. It rumbled up the ramp, slowly building up speed until I reached 55 mph. The car trailer warned to not exceed this particular speed while towing a vehicle, and I would rather be safe than sorry. Besides, I wasn’t sure how a truck of this size would react on the road. After a couple a miles I realized it wasn’t much different than driving a car, it just reacted slower. Slower to speed up, slower to stop.

I reached the bottom of the first set of hills outside of Rabbit Valley and that’s when I realized just how much of a load I was hauling. The truck immediately began slowing down as the grade steepened and cars sped by me as I struggled to keep the truck moving up the side of the hill. Slowly we climbed our way to the summit of the hill at a measly 30 mph, our hazard lights flashing to warn trailing motorists of our slow speed. I also noticed the temperature gauge rising the more I pushed on the gas, detouring me from revving the engine more to increase our speed.

We finally reached the summit of the first hill and coasted down the other side. At the bottom of the next hill we started the process all over again, a process we would repeat numerous times over the next thousand miles.

Old Car Radio

The truck was stock. It had no power windows, no power locks, and no CD player. The only thing it included for entertainment purposes was a radio. However, I wasn’t very optimistic about our chances of finding a radio station in some of the more remote locations we would be traveling through. And Stephanie was bummed to not be able to listen to our huge CD collection we had prepared for the trip. As a last resort, we could always sing songs to each other.

So together we drove west, thinking about the adventures ahead and the life we were leaving behind. Oh, and we found a decent station on the radio, too.

[Image by phil_g, docsearls]

From → Travel

3 Comments
  1. Bob Morrison permalink

    Jeremy, I can simpathize with you even though when I was driving professionally I had a much larger rig with a very generous 400 horsepower diesel engine paired with 13 forward and 2 reverse gears at my disposal that made easy work out of driving my 80,000lb 70 foot long tractor trailer, (when I had a single 53 foot trailer), or my 110 foot long rig with a set of triple trailers that topped the scales at around 110,000 pounds. I can remember my day’s of driving I-84 and I-82 to I-90 in the Northwest, so I can see your lightly whightened knuckles from here. I am glad you both made it safe and sound, and I pray that you both will be sucessful in your endevors.

  2. brenda permalink

    Jeremy enjoyed the ramp ride with you. Life has many new adventure for you, learn from each one. Love you very much, good to see your picture i felt like i could reach out and touch you.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Home Sweet Home In Seattle « JEREMY GREEN

Leave a Reply

